OM PRAKASH RAWAT: New Chief Election Commissioner

Must Read

Corona Update

Total confirmed cases
Updated on March 31, 2023 2:33 pm

By: Gaurav Nandan Tripathi,

The election commission of India continues to make in the news spectrum, as Om Prakash Rawat has been appointed as the chief election commissioner(CEC). It is also to be noted that the last CEC Achal Kumar Jyoti was retiring from his services on Monday, thus Rawat was voted in as the new CEC to fill the vacancy in the office. Rawat will be assisted by two election commissioners Sunil Arora and ( ex finance secretary) Ashoka Lavasa.

The election commission was in the recent news over the fuming debacle of the AAP MLAs being disqualified to acquire their position over profit issues. It remains to be seen how CEC Rawat now handles this issue. Moreover he has to oversee the elections in the three north eastern states of Nagaland, Tripura and Meghalaya. Depending on his tenure in the office he may also see over the
assembly elections of Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan. Rawat is a retired Indian Administrative Service officer of Madhya Pradesh cadre of the 1977 batch. Before being appointed as election commissioner, Rawat served as secretary in the ministry of heavy industries and public enterprises. He also served as principal secretary to the chief minister of Madhya Pradesh from 2004 to 2006. His new tenure as the CEC ends in December this year.

To get more such updates delivered first to you, like our Facebook Page. Also dont forget to follow us onTwitter, Instagram and Google News. To send guest post or press release, mail us at

Connect on Social Media


Editor's Pick

दिल्ली के रामलीला मैदान से किसानों का ऐलान, 20 दिन बाद फिर होगा बड़ा आंदोलन

संयुक्त किसान मोर्चा ने सोमवार के दिल्ली के रामलीला मैदान में महापंचायत की। न्यूनतम समर्थन मूल्य (एमएसपी) की मांग...

Trending News